working with type 2 diabetes

llandudno1960

at an average how many people with type 2 diabetes manage to keep up a full time job,i really would be interested to know :!: i used to work full time also i was a resident warden in a local sheltered housing estate which included middle of the night call outs, i had to give it up by the time ambulance would arrive for the resident i would be of my feet :!: :!: luckily i have a husband that works fulltime that keeps us going,admittedly my diabetes is not under very good control some days i feel totally tr--h and other days not so bad but there is no way i could work fulltime, would be grateful for any opinions :)

Fraddycat

Hi Llandudno, I work full time, have done since I was diagnosed 2 years ago, in fact I think work stress was probably a contributing factor in my diabetes. I have to work full time coz my husband is in and out of work, but to be fair I love my job and would do everything I could to keep it. I have to do a lot of international travel and its quite hard to keep my levels regular when I am not sure where my next meal is coming from but now that I have the forum for support I now have lots more ideas to try!

searley

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Diabetes, not having Jaffa Cake
I try to work full time..

But one way or another, i never seem to get full week in.. Maybe 30 hours a week

BioHaZarD

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I am very lucky I don't work, I am a stay at home dad, my wife works full time and has a great job so keeps us both nicely. I would probably not have as good a control of my diabetes if I was at work. I am able to work out in advance what I can eat.

RoyG

Dislikes
To many to mention.