1/4 unit insulin pen device

Kiarna96H

Hi Everyone,

I hope you are all well! I'm very new to this as was only diagnosed T1D 6 months ago.

I just wondered if anyone uses a reusable 1/4 unit insulin pen device for Novorapid. I am currently using Novo pen echo 1/2 unit device. I have heard that in the UK they don't have them but have heard from one of the diabetes nurses you can buy a 1/4 unit pen from Germany (she can't quite remember exactly where) that fits the 3ml Novorapid insert. Unfortunately we couldn't find it yesterday and I have looked on so many sites today as well.

So just wondered if anyone was using a 1/4 unit reusable insulin pen device and if so where could I get one?

If not no worries, just would be nice to have a little more control over my levels.

Ki x

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hello @Kiarna96H and welcome to the forum :)

Personally i'd never heard of a 1/4 unit pen before your post, I was using a children's 1/2 unit pen before moving to the pump which my nurse gave me so sorry not much use in regards to locating a 1/4 unit one, maybe try searching children's insulin pens as they are generally given out to children .

How are you finding your control on the current pen so what does a typical day look like ?

Reactions: Kiarna96H

Kiarna96H

Hello @Juicyj!

Thank you, yeah I didn't until I had a discussion with a diabetes nurse whilst on shift the other day and she mentioned she found a 1/4 unit pen but couldn't find it when we looked.
Okay no worries I'll look into it after work today.

My control at the moment is good but it's frustrating when I have a snack less then 8g as I still spike and I don't want to give 1/2 unit as it'll just drop me too low.