Do you have an underactive thyroid?

• Thread starter catherinecherub
  • Start Date
C

catherinecherub

Hypothyroidism - or an underactive thyroid - affects one in 70 women and one in 1,000 men according to the NHS. But it can be a tricky disease to diagnose and treat. Dr Michael Mosley, of Trust Me I'm a Doctor, asks if sufferers are slipping through the net.

"To get some answers I've been talking to Dr Anthony Toft, who is a former president of the British Thyroid Association.

He tells me that the thyroid gland is a bit like the accelerator pedal on your car. It produces hormones which help control the energy balance in your body. If it's underactive, then your metabolic rate will be slower than it should be. This means that you are likely to put on weight. Other symptoms can include feeling too cold or too hot, lacking in energy, being constipated, low mood, poor attention or "brain fog".
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-38895877

Reactions: zand

carol43

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
It's about time this subject was highlighted. The price the NHS pays for T3 is criminal, I can source this for 300 25mcg tablets at 65 Euro and 300 100mcg for 80 Euro. Have booked another blood test including T3, let's see if I can get that.

A

asparagusp

Yes I read that article earlier. These drug companies really take the NHS and us for a ride.

Someone should challenge them.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: Freema

Resurgam

Expert
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I have an underactive thyroid and take 175mgm of Thyroxine a day - or I should, I keep forgetting. (Just checked, yes, forgot this morning - take them now, even though it deeps me awake)