What's everyone having for Christmas dinner?

Kaz261

Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
Diet only
I'm still fairly new to RH and this will be my first low (ish) carb Christmas. I was therefore wondering how you tackle Christmas dinner? Any tips/ideas gratefully received!

We're at my parents on Christmas Day. They are very traditional and pretty much every meal has to include lots of potato! I've just made some sugar free cranberry sauce and am thinking it's ok to have the traditional turkey dinner minus the obvious baddies (roast potatoes, parsnips, stuffing etc)? I've also found a recipe for raspberry cream which looks a little like a cheesecake. It uses sugar free biscuits and ground almonds in the base (I know the biscuits still have carbs), cream and raspberries and sugar free jelly on the top. Does this sound okish?

Reactions: 2 people

Arab Horse

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Sounds great, Prawn cocktail to start minus the dressing, I prefer it with a squirt of lemon juice anyway.

Have a great say.

Kaz261

Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
Diet only
Thanks! Was wondering what to have to start. I love prawns so could be a winner . Have a great day too

Robbity

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
It sounds pretty good! There are some great low carb festive foods if we think outsude the box... Look at some of our other low carb Christmas threads for further food ideas - some people try to stay low carb, and others opt for a day off! :D