Husband type 1, won't check sugars

Harris182

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Hi! My husband has had type 1 for 4 years now and he still refuses to check his sugars regularly or learn to count carbs. I turn to encourage him to do so but it tends to come off as nagging and badgering. I understand how difficult it is to control and live with diabetes and i cant begin to imagine whats its like to be dignoised with it but its incredibly upsetting for me. (I'm aware of how selfish that sounds!!) I work as a theatre nurse and spend my day dealing with the worse end of diabetic problems, every patient I see will one day be him and it scares me. Hes already lost 2 teeth due to bad gums and infections (although hes convinced its due to just having "bad teeth" and not diabetic control) What can I do help him accept his diabetes without being an over bearing nag????
Or should I let him come to terms with it on his own and shut up!?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Sounds like he is still in denial about his diagnosis, it must be so hard on you and frustrating too knowing that what he is doing is harming him and your relationship, I'm wondering as you work in a hospital could you speak to a member of his diabetes team (on the quiet of course) and see what they suggest.

Reactions: 5 people

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Sometimes people look like they don't care and are ignoring things but really they're scared. Do you think that could be the case with your husband? Could he feel awkward because of your job - ie thinking you'll judge him?