Getting an insulin pump.

MegMeek19

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hey guys my name is Meg, I'm 19. I've been fighting for 3 years to get an insulin pump, finally I'm getting one! Is there any advice or tips for getting one I should know? Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using DCUK Forum

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi @MegMeek19 :)

Would you like me to move your thread into the Pump section where you may get more replies?

I have a pump. My advice is to get the book Pumping Insulin, to test lots so you can see what's hapoening to your blood sugar over 24 hours, and to keep in mind that it may take a few weeks to tweak your insulin to get the best results so be prepared for that.

You could also look on YouTube for some pump videos of the pump you're getting - things like changing the cannula, filling the reservoir, etc.

Which pump are you getting?

MegMeek19

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hiya yeah please that would be great! I'm getting the Medtronic mini med in pink in the next couple of weeks ☺️

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hiya yeah please that would be great! I'm getting the Medtronic mini med in pink in the next couple of weeks ☺️

Moved for you @MegMeek19 :)

There are a number of people here with the Medtronic. I think @Juicyj might have one, and there are other members too.

My pump is an Animas Vibe and it's blue. Pink was my second choice. Colour is important when you wear something 24 hrs a day, I think.

I found it took me a few days to get used to wearing the pump (I've had one for 12 years) At first I was worried about the cannula and I kept thinking I'd knock it or damage it so I was really aware of it all the time, but that stopped after a few days and I didn't even notice it.

I thought of another tip - take pen and paper to your pump training session. It's easy to forget things when you get home!

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1