Too Much Fish

wiseowl_123

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Bullies & Cauliflower cheese
Good morning I am quite a new member with Type 2 diabetes,not testing yet,am I doing the right thing by eating fish every day,,ie Fresh salmon,yekkow haddock,kippers for breakfast and sardines,salad and fruit,is it possible to eat to much fish as I really enjoy it,but is everyday to much,my first review is in 2 months,thank you for reading my post:)

wiseowl_123

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Hello No its just that its a good part of a diabetics diet as far as I can gather,but I am new to diabetes

Reactions: Freema

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Yeah that's fine if you like fish then go for it.. the fattier the better.

wiseowl_123

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Thank you @bulkbiker my friend its so confusing as I have read somewhere that there are toxins in fish and I was alittle concerned.

Reactions: SWUSA_

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Good morning I am quite a new member with Type 2 diabetes,not testing yet,am I doing the right thing by eating fish every day,,ie Fresh salmon,yekkow haddock,kippers for breakfast and sardines,salad and fruit,is it possible to eat to much fish as I really enjoy it,but is everyday to much,my first review is in 2 months,thank you for reading my post:)

Fish is good for you @wiseowl_123 , here's what the NHS Choices website says about fish consumption:

How much oily fish should I eat?
We should eat at least one portion (around 140g when cooked) of oily fish a week.

Oily fish can contain low levels of pollutants that can build up in the body. For this reason, there are maximum recommendations for the number of portions we should be eating each week. These recommendations are different for different groups of people: