1st time fasting, any tips

Ruth26

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
@Lisajohann2014

Im fairly new to LCHF & fasting too. I have found like bulkbiker said ... missing one meal a day at first actually led me to a place where it became easy to miss lunch as well without feeling hungry.
So now I do either 16:8 or 24 each day ... depending on how I feel.
Haven't yet tried longer ... mainly because my husband thinks I'm mad missing so much food. I'm going slowly to give my body & my hubby's brain time to adjust ;)
Good luck to you x

Reactions: kokhongw

lisajo2016

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi @Ruth26,

That's good. I've missed breakfast a couple of times as I've noticed I'm just not hungry. I think I will just see how I feel on the day.
Have you noticed any benefits?
What is 16:8? Is that 16hrs. fast and eat within an 8 hour window. Not eat for 8hrs lol

Ruth26

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi @Ruth26,

That's good. I've missed breakfast a couple of times as I've noticed I'm just not hungry. I think I will just see how I feel on the day.
Have you noticed any benefits?
What is 16:8? Is that 16hrs. fast and eat within an 8 hour window. Not eat for 8hrs lol

Yes 16:8 is an 8hr eating window ... altho it is usually about 6hrs now tbh
I have weight loss - without hunger .... if I do feel hungry during the morning I have a coffee with cream which helps
My Hba1c is back to pre-diabetic range even though I was only diagnosed in June this year
But the best bit is my total exhaustion has disappeared .... I've more energy that I have for years & my head is more clear

lisajo2016

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Gosh, I can't wait for all those symtoms to be totally gone. Although they are better than they were. Just get floored for a couple of days now.
Never realised that that was what was wrong with me until I read every bodies posts.