Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies
Hi @wiseowl_123
Feel free to discuss porridge spikes here.
Loads of us diabetics get spikes on porridge.
Many of us know how good it is for heart health so we try and cover those lost micronutrients needed by eating other foods instead.

Last edited:

wiseowl_123

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Bullies & Cauliflower cheese
9.15am(I hour) was 9.4 1 hour after Porridge,10.15am(2 hour) 6.1and ,I don't know what the reading means as I am still learning @ickihun what would be an acceptable level be ,doesent everyone get spikes when they eat porridge ,and does it mean that its alright for me to continue eating it.Thank you:)

ickihun

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies
@wiseowl_123 in my experience you can eat anything in moderation. I've been diabetic 40yrs+.
If you low carb you get less spikes and can stop the hyper, hypo thing getting out of hand. Which of course puts pressure on your heart.
Less spikes, I feel is much more healthier for any diabetic. Even type1s.
You must cover your nutrients thou. That is imperative.
Potato spikes a lot of diabetics too but full if potatassium to control high blood pressure problems.
So you must double up on other low carb potassium filled foods. Its a complex job but not impossible. This is the job of a dietician but they pick the easy route of porridge and potato for us diabetics. It all needs a good shake up!

Your 2hr spike I feel is very good. Mine would be 12mmol/l.
Remember everyone's diabetic journey is different!

douglas99

Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Now sitting at 5.0 is this a worry?

After three hours that's not bad.
I'd throw the golden syrup away though.

(Although I was feeding my mum porridge and golden syrup over Christmas, she's non diabetic, and needs to put on weight, so it was as much golden syrup as porridge, definately not good for us though.)