CarlyB

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Tomatoes, snobby behaviour
Hi all,

I'm T1D and I've been working on my bloods since November 2016 for pregnancy. However my HbA1c results have consistently come back at 6.8%. So frustrating! I find that I get really stressed in the build up to the test and my bloods go high for about 2 weeks prior as a result. I'm tempted to just go for it and try for a baby. Is it really irresponsible if I do? I understand the risks. But my diabetic control is classed as good, just 0.3% higher than what is recommended for pregnancy. I would be super good with my care regime in the meantime.
What are people's thoughts who have been in this position please?

TIA

Carly

Last edited:

TheBigNewt

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
6.8% sounds better than a lot of people on this forum to me. Is there some "rule" it has to be 6.5% in the UK to get pregnant? Maybe someone will chime in, but I've not seen any pregnant ladies post on this forum in the brief time I've been on it (I'm surprised your join date isn't associated with your user name).

CarlyB

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
6.8% sounds better than a lot of people on this forum to me. Is there some "rule" it has to be 6.5% in the UK to get pregnant? Maybe someone will chime in, but I've not seen any pregnant ladies post on this forum in the brief time I've been on it (I'm surprised your join date isn't associated with your user name).

Yes they recommend a Hba1c of 6.1% but 6.5% and below is acceptable. Such a tough target.

joanne75

Yes they recommend a Hba1c of 6.1% but 6.5% and below is acceptable. Such a tough target.
Hi Carly I understand where you are coming from and our clinic recommends that your HBA1C should be 55 before conception, mine was 74 so I would decide yourself if you feel ready then I would just carry on and start trying, by the way my pregnancy was fine - best wishes

Reactions: CarlyB

CarlyB