Weight loss and hair loss

FADM2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi, I've been IFing (16:8) and cutting down on carbs for past 3-4 months and lost 6-7 kgs over last 6 months. But my hair loss is just tragic! I've been losing soo much hair since I've restricted my calories intake!! I still eat healthy- everyday I eat egg, fish, brown rice, veggies and avoid junk food. I have no clue why I'm losing so much hair.

Did anyone experience the same?

Dr Snoddy

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Trolls
Could be iron deficiency which is known to cause hair thinning / loss. Congratulations on the weight loss!

Reactions: ickihun and pavlosn

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hi @FADM2 could also be a thyroid issue, either way it's worthwhile booking into your GP's for a blood test to get it checked out :)

hca

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hello @FADM2 , hair loss can be caused by a great many things and can be a source of distress, it really would be worth speaking to your GP. X

ickihun

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies
Hi, I've been IFing (16:8) and cutting down on carbs for past 3-4 months and lost 6-7 kgs over last 6 months. But my hair loss is just tragic! I've been losing soo much hair since I've restricted my calories intake!! I still eat healthy- everyday I eat egg, fish, brown rice, veggies and avoid junk food. I have no clue why I'm losing so much hair.

Did anyone experience the same?
I would suggest supplements in diets which are very restricted.
I'm restricting my diet but supplement it. Once I have bariatric surgery I will need to increase vit d3 and start calcium supplements.

Mike d

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
idiots who will not learn
No straightforward answer to that ... some might but I'd be reluctant to connect metformin to it

Bluetit1802

Legend