Carbs and type 1 diabetes

idawikstrom

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Hi guys,
My partner has type 1 diabetes since 8 years back, and he know exactly what to eat and not, no doubt. But I'm a nutrition amateur (not for long!) and I have read a lot about carbs aren't that bad as they always seem to be for someone with diabetes. Is it anyone here who eats for example carbs like beans, potatoes, legumes etc without any problems? Those types of carbohydrates contain big amounts of fiber and protein and doesn't contain any saturated fats, sugar etc. Thank you!

D

Deleted Account

In a simplistic way, insulin works by converting glucose in our blood to energy.
If we have no insulin, or not enough, our blood glucose levels (BG) will raise which is very dangerous.

When we have type 1 diabetes, we produce no insulin so need to inject it to manage the carbs which have been converted into BG. We have to count the amount of carbs we eat and calculate our insulin doses to match this.
There are some difficulties with this such as correctly calculating the insulin dose and timing it to match the point when that glucose reaches our blood.
To help overcome this, some people with type 1 diabetes reduce their carb intake.
If your partner is comfortable with his carb counting and insulin timing, this is not necessary and he can eat carbs in the same way as someone without diabetes.

This is the approach I take and have maintained good control over the last 15 years.

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hi @idawikstrom It depends on what insulin he takes, so for instance if he's taking novorapid and carb counting then as @helensaramay has said he can eat what carbs he likes as long as he injects the correct amount of insulin to cover the carbs. If he's on mixed insulin then he would need to eat a set amount of carbs at each mealtime.

kaylz91

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type