What was your fasting blood glucose? (with some chat)

Granny_grump_

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Dishonesty lies and thieves and online Bullies!!!
Hi, I'm new to this, not long diagnosed type 2, a bit confused , do you still count calories, am starting to do low carbs, 125 - 150 and work my way down.
Am not on mess, diet only, bought myself a Glucose meter, and my fasting glucose this morning was 7.2, but this was after a shower.
Did test 2 hours after breakfast of porridge, 27 carbs, and my reading was 6.6.
Don't know if I'm doing things right.
Hi @Falkirk_airs you seem to have worked it out already low carbs but not the lowest to start with sensible, but check immediately before any food and 2 hours after food so you find out what foods you eat raises your BG levels it's the only way to regulate how your body tolerates different foods in our diets. And keep a food diary of what you eat and BG reading always very useful to go back to when your wondering what you can eat some days. Good luck on your diabetic journey it will be an eye opener! K

Reactions: ziggy_w and Glenmac

Granny_grump_

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
3.1 at 3:08 just been woken up by our youngest spaniel
Fantastic dogs Goacher55 and so intuitive to do what they do for you,but have you checked this low BG with your GP or DN to find out why it's happening! Your lows are extreme and regular wouldn't do any harm getting it checked out! K

Granny_grump_

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Harry is fine K...he spent the day with the neighbours yesterday while I went off to work...had one of those days (had a good whinge about it in this thread)...enjoying my first coffee...reflecting on events...but got home in one piece...so putting yesterday to bed...Harry sends his love...sent you his 'official' Halloween photo which he insists is one of his best:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:.