Lots of hypos...

Catsymoo

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Having diabetes
Hi guys, as of late I'm having a lot of hypos and it's really distressing as they are happening at work. I am not very good at seeing my diabetic nurses as I have a phobia of blood tests and get sick and tired of seeing doctors lately for unrelated reasons, and I'm too busy so I'm just looking for a little bit of insight online.

I'm on Novorapid and Lantus. I have 28-30 units of Lantus anywhere between 5pm and 2am depending on work. I know that sounds bad but my work schedule is hectic and I have tried to change it to just evenings so I have some sort of routine. I am supposed to take Metformin twice a day, and I probably manage it once a day. I try to manage my Lantus at 5pm-6pm but sometimes at work people get annoyed with me if I have to go off the shop floor to take my medication, so I might just leave it and take it when I get home...

Putting that aside, I'm having problems with my insulin. My blood sugar seems to be always too high or too low. Not catastrophically high, but I am seeing a lot of 12s and 14s and 15s. I'm not very adventurous with food, most the carbs I eat are.. I eat brown bread, I eat pasta and I eat chocolate. I stay away from really high GI foods unless I'm hypo. My insulin needs just change all the time and it's really annoying. Yesterday at work for example, I had a sandwich before I left for work, and I took 10 units of insulin. In the car about an hour later, my sugar was 14.6. I took 2 units to try and get it down a little, I had a yum-yum at work as they were offering them, didn't take any insulin as I was doing physical work. 45 mins later I start going hypo, drop to about 5 and I can feel it coming. I eat 2 more yum yums and half a sandwich and only go up to 6.9.