What does alcohol do to you?

h4kr

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm interested in others experiences with alcohol and what happens for you guys.
Obviously im pretty new to this.. when diagnosed at xmas i was super wary and didnt really drink anything.
I have now found red wine doesnt really do anything to my levels, i dont drop overnight or the next day (even after a bottle and a half of wine). yesterday i had a 4 bottles of bud.. again - minimal rise and no drop after... is this the norm?
I keep expecting to have a horror story to tell after a night on the sauce ?? Am i fooling myself into complacency?

Reactions: RAPS_od

miahara

Type of diabetes
Type 3c
Treatment type
Insulin
Gosh you do do pretty well for consumption, I'd be on the floor!
Generally alcohol isn't too bad when it comes to carbs. Beer comes in at about 2.2g/100g, I've no data for lager, and red wine is pretty low. The one to avoid is sweet white wine as it can be up to 5.9g/100g. Spirits have next to no carbs, unless you consume them with a mixer.

Reactions: RAPS_od and hankjam

Nicola M

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Generally, with most drinks I've ever consumed I have a slight rise and then crash a few hours later. My sugars then continuously drop over the next 24 hours. Not sure why this happens but it always does.

Reactions: RAPS_od

TheBigNewt

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I only do light beer (Coors Light is big around here probably not there in the land of Guinness Stout) or red wine and they don't mess up my blood sugar at all.

Mbaker

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Available fast foods in Supermarkets
At Christmas my wife and I had a LCHF meal and half a bottle of wine each (we now both rarely drink). I put on 2 kg and my non-diabetic wife 1.5 kg, which is close to our mass difference. It is strange as we both lost the weight really quickly.

Incyb

Type of diabetes
Type 2