Newbie diabetic for 36 years

MIQ

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello,

I have stumbled across this forum searching google , asking if the freestyle libra can be worn other than on arm, (it appears that it can)

I won’t be able to wear mine on my arm as I train triceps and have no fat there. (Getting one tomorrow)

A bit about myself, was diagnosed when I was 2 (1981) and I was one of the 1st registered diabetics locally. I have always been insulin dependent and been under relatively good control for most of my life.

Recently I decided I wanted to loose weight (as I was getting fat) so I used carb counting and reduced my carbs which meant less insulin and have lost almost 3 stone and have improved my HBA1C.

I am looking forward to looking through the forum and seeing other people’s advise and experiences.

I am pretty familiar on how forums work as I am a administrator of the R32OC and have over 10,000 posts, so you can safely say I quite like forums.

Thanks

Mark

NewTD2

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Welcome Mark!

Would be great to hear your amazing 36 years of experience and how you can help so many T1s in this forum!

MIQ

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi , and thank you

I would not know where to start lol as I have had so many ups and downs and learnings , especially with medication getting better , when I was diagnosed it was 1 injection a day and from a vial and needle ,

A lot has changed since then.

But if anyone had any questions on anything I am sure I can help and answer

Reactions: Dodo

Boo1979

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hello,

I have stumbled across this forum searching google , asking if the freestyle libra can be worn other than on arm, (it appears that it can)

I won’t be able to wear mine on my arm as I train triceps and have no fat there. (Getting one tomorrow)