Anyone With Type 1 And No Complications

static192

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
hi everyone i wanted to ask is there any type 1 with no complications. apart from good blood sugar level what would you say helped you stay complication free.

Grumpy ole thing

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
discovering you cant actually turn the stairs round, or move the roof...
I have some background retinopathy according to the letter i received following annual retinal screening, but not enough to treat and I haven't noticed any differences. I started on insulin just over 41 years ago, but I think I'm a comparative newby from what I've read on some other threads x

Fairygodmother

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bigotry, reliance on unsupported 'facts', unkindness, unfairness.
I have no, or negligible, complications ions after 48 years. Negligible includes corrective surgery for cataracts (bionic lenses are wonderful) and a couple of kidney function scares which I think were due to dehydration or poor lab work. The latest kidney function tests show they’re working just fine.
I have no idea whether my blood sugar levels were good in the years following diagnosis as there was no way I could test them. However, I’ve tried to control the T1 roller coaster as well as possible since personal testing kits were available.
There’s research to suggest those who developed T1 after the age of 18 have a greater chance of some active beta cells left and also a greater chance of avoiding complications.

K

Knikki

I'm bit like @Grumpy ole thing, although been on insulin for a tad bit long, yep bit of the old background retinopathy but other than that still all here and still got my appendix :p

Other than that:

Don't be afraid to try anything,
Don't be afraid to try and eat anything and everything but always be aware of what that double chocolate fudge cake with ice cream will do to your BS later on ;)