Had diabetes education today

woollygal

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Coffee diabetes
Diagnosed in August and hosts of this class today said my Hba1c that I had of 87 was extremely high. That having said that she has had people up to 130.
The class was disappointing. Being a driving instructor I find it difficult to know what to eat at certain times. So I was hoping to get some advice on what are good snacks that don’t spike sugars.
Nothing like that, it was all about what the organs do, not really interested in that, and about the food groups. Good but again I need more specific personalised dietary advice. The host even said that she would refer me to dietitian as I sounded like I needed more direct.

At one point I asked if with hba1c at 87 it was possible to get to normal levels at 3 months. It was a definite no.
Then at the end she said to be you are so very symptomatic. That maybe my meds were working so well that I didn’t need them anymore.

So yet more confusion.

At one point she said that it seems odd not to test levels because how would I know what effect foods have then at the end she said she didn’t want yo contradict doctor.

I’m kind of at the end of my tether. I need to work long hours but energy wise I’m flagging which is not good. Trying to get consistent answers is impossible.

What I really needed was to be asked what I wanted from that class but no. There were questions but not what you wanted out of it.

Is it wrong that I’m getting symptoms? I seemed to be the only one who was exhibiting symptoms ( I had had headache and blurry eyes as sugars had been 13.8 a bit before).

I have been diagnosed for 6 weeks but I kind of feel like maybe I’m over reacting. Does no one else suffer symptoms? I often feel very tired and wee a lot and feel generally like I have a hangover. I thought this was normal with diabetes.