Pre Diagnosis Food

neithskye

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Do you ever go back and read the labels of the food you used to eat before your diabetes diagnosis?

I only have to cook for myself, and I'm also a lazy cook. I used to eat so much packaged food (TV dinners, pizza pops). I had no idea what a carb was or how insulin worked. Sometimes when I go grocery shopping I read the labels of stuff I used to eat. Yikes! More carbs in one serving than I eat now in three days.

Just an interesting experiment I do. This diabetes journey has certainly been very educational.

sally and james

Type of diabetes
Family member
Treatment type
Diet only
We used to begin the day with a bowl of muesli (carefully chosen for low salt and no added sugar), skimmed milk, a plate of fruit (half a banana each, some grapes, blueberries, half a nectarine) and, often a glass of orange juice or fruit smoothie. I thought we were being super healthy. No wonder my husband became diabetic.
Sally

JoKalsbeek

Expert
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Do you ever go back and read the labels of the food you used to eat before your diabetes diagnosis?

I only have to cook for myself, and I'm also a lazy cook. I used to eat so much packaged food (TV dinners, pizza pops). I had no idea what a carb was or how insulin worked. Sometimes when I go grocery shopping I read the labels of stuff I used to eat. Yikes! More carbs in one serving than I eat now in three days.

Just an interesting experiment I do. This diabetes journey has certainly been very educational.
I don't do it intentionally, but sometimes my mom, who's trying to cut carbs, will ask whether something's alright, sometimes things I used to eat... And a portion often turns out to be what I consume in 3 to 5 days. It is rather eye-opening!

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only