can type 1 diabetes be controlled with diet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yetta2mymom

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
?
Hi

I have a rare (in the U.K.) form of reactive hypoglycemia. I completely control my problem with a very low-carb diet. I guess I have been doing this for over 12 years. I have genetics (there are a bunch of us) so that I do not lose weight on a low-carb diet. I am presently losing weight by removing as much fat from my diet as practicable. I am simulating a severe type 2 diabetic on a low-carb diet. The reason people lose weight on a low-carb diet is that you produce insulin to process protein. Once insulin is in the blood it starts getting cells to change sugar into fat. I have concluded that all humans can produce hormones which create temporary type 2 diabetes. You may have to produce these hormones or you will get very low blood sugar. In any case you end up with lower blood sugar than the body is comfortable with. Your liver changes fat into sugar and releases it to raise your blood sugar. Changing sugar into fat and then changing fat into sugar is very energy intensive. You use energy and lose weight. Since I can control my reactive hypoglycemia it implies type 2 diabetics can control their problem with diet. Type 1 diabetics have the additional problem of processing protein. What is the test(s) which sees if you have too much ammonia or other byproducts of not processing protein? If you have type 1 diabetes can you limit ingesting protein enough so that you can control your type 1 diabetes and/or can you detect when you are having problems and quickly get back on a good track?

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hello Yetta

If you are suggesting 'can type 1 be controlled by diet' alone, then the simple answer is no.