Insulin to carbs or carbs to insulin

Japes

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
I have been experimenting with different levels of carbs for a couple of months or so and will be interested to see what this week's Hba1c comes out as.

When I was in the mis-diagnosed Type 2 days, I was very low carb and enjoyed it. Until it was no longer working because, well, it couldn't.

I mostly tend to more carbs on more active days, fewer carbs on less active days, with potatoes and more fruit being the "Welcome back to my life, I've really missed you" carbs. Grains and rice continue to be experimental but I don't avoid them totally. Some toast is also very welcome...

Reactions: kitedoc

JAT1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi, @JAT1 , as you say, you're still new to this and still finding your way.

I've been doing T1 for a long time, about 30 yrs.

I'd encourage you to have a close look at who is posting and what their background is - are they T1 or T2?

T1 and T2 have fundamentally different biology. If you get a T2 saying you should never eat that, that might be good advice for a T2, but it means diddly-squot for T1s.

There is no reason at all why T1s shouldn't eat fruit. T2s talk about fructose, but that is of no relevance at all to T1s, because the biology is different.

Provided you get your pre-bolus timing and absorption clues figured out, there is absolutely no problems at all for a T1 with a few figs, greengages, plums, peaches, melon etc after a meal.

They contain lots of nutrients, which are good for our health, and the pleasure of eating them is good for our psychological welfare too..

This site can be useful at times, but just be aware that the main contributors are T2. As I've said, T1 is a fundamentally different condition.