T2D and insulin. Diet?

miahara

Type of diabetes
Type 3c
Treatment type
Insulin
It seems likely that after 3 years on Gliclazide and a LCHF diet that seems to have ceased having the desired effect, I'm quite possibly likely going to have insulin added to my meds.
I've a pal who is T1 and can more or less eat what he wants so long as he adjusts his insulin accordingly. My question is does this dietary flexibility also apply to T2D?

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I have no experience of insulin, or any other diabetes med, but I do know that the more carbs you eat the more insulin you need. And vice versa. The more insulin you have circulating round your body, the more you are damaging things. High circulating insulin is the precursor to insulin resistance, so the more IR you become, the more insulin you need. Vicious circle. That is the issue with T2.

M

Member496333

I've a pal who is T1 and can more or less eat what he wants so long as he adjusts his insulin accordingly. My question is does this dietary flexibility also apply to T2D?

No. Type 1 is an autoimmune condition of insufficient insulin. Type 2 is a dietary disease of excessive insulin. For a while, perhaps years, you’ll be able to force more glucose into your cells with increasing doses. Your blood may appear clean but you’ll be making your diabetes worse if you attempt to adopt a similar approach to your T1 friend.

As an aside, not that I’m prying into your diet, but it’s a surprise that LCHF has led you to insulin. Normally it’s the other way around. Are you sure there’s no further dietary intervention that you can make in order to avoid insulin? It’s really not the best treatment for insulin resistance and should be avoided if at all possible.

Chook

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
People who think they know everything.