Introduce Yourself: Answer Some Personal Questions

nickziggy

Hi,

I Just wanted to introduce myself to you all.

I am very new to Diabetes. I am used to illness but diabetes was a shock and I am having problems controlling it. I have read lots and found a lot of varied and contradictionary advice. I am 52 and lived most of my life in Suffolk. Born in Ipswich. I have lived last 13 years in Ireland. I have 2 adult boys 24 and 18.

I already have a number of illness's listed below.

1. Have a heart condition. Had 99% blockage. Had angio and was Stented. Had another angio abt 2 years later. Stenting 2007.
2. Heamachromatosis. I was diagnosed. ( genetic test ) in 2006. I have regular venesection at Roscommon hospital to keep iron serum level below 40.
3. I recently had a Pulmonary Embolism which was found around June 20th. Am on blood thinners to break clot down.
4. Severe Asthma with only 13 % lower lung function. I can only walk about 50m before becoming breathless.
5. Severe Osteoarthritis in both knees. Have been told by consultant that only thing they can do is replace them, for which I am far too young. Also spurs on both shoulder joints.
6. I have type 2 diabetes which did not respond to diet change. I am on 2 drugs orally and 1 injection.
7. I have had DPD Depersonalisation and derealisation since age 14. This led to many misdiagnosed. Have tried suicide twice. Ended up on life support. DPD will never stop. I am also being treated for severe depression and anxiety also Bi Polar and Borderline Personality.
8. I have COPD which causes me to have bronchitis, which comes and goes.
9.Carpel Tunnel nerve damage in both wrists, outer two fingers left and right hands numb/pins needles. Left worse than right.

I did not write the above for pity, just to let you know of the issues I am dealing with. I am very very lucky that the above were found and am dealing with them.

Diabetes is very new to me so I am learning.