Recently Diagnosed with 1.5; terrified of possibility of weight gain

charman152

Hi! I'm new to the whole diabetes world and have recently been diagnosed with LADA. While I haven't started insulin yet (I've been put on 500mg/2x a day of Metformin), I understand that I eventually will need insulin injections. From everything I've read, insulin is correlated with weight gain. I understand that a healthy diet and exercise can help prevent this but I am anxious that even that won't be enough. Currently I am at a healthy weight and have been working really hard to eat few carbs/sugars but I worry that it won't be enough in the future. I know that if I gain much weight through insulin it is going to greatly affect my mental health. Does anyone have any words of wisdom//assauge these fears?
Thanks so much!

Last edited:
Reactions: TheAndyC

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
Well, personally being alive is a lot more important than being size zero.

I have no experience of weight gain from insulin long term as a medic recently informed me that my weight is within 250g of my weight 4 years ago. Insulin keeps me alive, enables me to work, exercise and be there for my family.

Reactions: snidge

charman152

Well, personally being alive is a lot more important than being size zero.

I have no experience of weight gain from insulin long term as a medic recently informed me that my weight is within 250g of my weight 4 years ago. Insulin keeps me alive, enables me to work, exercise and be there for my family.