low carb vegan cake recipe needed

Guna108

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi.
We have friends coming round for a meal to celebrate my son's birthday and I would like to make a cake that everyone can enjoy.(in moderation :) ) One of our guests is prediabetic and I have type 2. Please can anyone share a recipe that you use to make a sponge cake that can be iced. As we don't eat meat, fish or egg-s a vegan keto cake would seem to be the best choice, but I am no expert . I haven't found anything online with metric measurements. If you have any 'tried ansd tested' recipes I would love to see them. I have read about different sweetenders like stevia, xylitol etc and flours e.g coconut and almond, but really don't know which to use as I haven't baked anything since my diagnosis and trying to lose weight. Any recommendations would help me a lot. Thanks.

Guna108

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I was about to suggest this one but it has eggs in it :(
I was just looking at the recipe. It looks delicious in the photo- shame about the eggs (for me anyway).

Goonergal

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
This one has eggs in it, but I understand that there are standard ways to replace eggs in a recipe to make them vegan, so if you fancy this one, or another one you could have a great at the egg replacement ideas (see links).

https://www.pccmarkets.com/taste/2013-03/egg_substitutes/

https://www.cakestoday.co.uk/3-more...x1fNymBU4xtwNDy3IlkBV6dS_d2pwjBoaAja5EALw_wcB

34DD48B6-E38B-4994-9A1C-4AA41369B01E.png

Reactions: Guna108

Walking Girl

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Spice cake recipe. Spices can be toned down for kids, but who doesn’t love cinnamon cake?