Newly diagnosed

MidwifeDee

Hi All
Found out 4 weeks ago that I have a type 2. I’m 47 and mother of 2. I also work as a midwife. BMI 38 so tall and over weight. Bloods 76. Not shocked but upset I have not looked after myself. However, since diagnosis I have lost 1 1/2 stone and started exercise which after 1 week seemed to make a difference to my bg. Went from 9 to 7 on wakening, lowest reading 6.8. However, been back at work and bg rising even though low carb diet. Do you think it could be stress? Not on meds yet. Any advice welcome.

VashtiB

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello and welcome.

What a great way to start losing 11/2 stone- I'm envious.

I have found that stress definitely effects my bg levels. Which when the bg levels increase makes me stress- which is not helpful.

How low carb are you going? You may want to consider reducing your carbs to a Keto level and seeing how your levels go. It also may be that it will take some time for your levels to settle down to a lower level. Are they still in the 6s during the day?

Welcome!

Resurgam

Expert
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
What are your readings two hours after starting to eat?
Tweaking the food choices and amounts can make a big difference to blood glucose levels. Once I was regularly getting under 8mmol/l after meals I kept to the same regime and numbers continued to fall and I have been at the top edge of normal for some time now.

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)

MidwifeDee

Hello and welcome.

What a great way to start losing 11/2 stone- I'm envious.

I have found that stress definitely effects my bg levels. Which when the bg levels increase makes me stress- which is not helpful.