Greetings - Red wine advice

Markyinon

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I .was very recently diagnosed with T2 diabetes. To my dismay, I was told to limit red wine to almost a thimble quantity daily intake. Is this crucial?

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
No. Unless you're on medication that doesn't combine with alcohol.

Goonergal

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only

VashtiB

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello and welcome,

I'm also a type 2 but not a red wine drinker. I do drink other alcohol. In relation to anything it will be the carbs that are important. dry red wine will probably have less carbs than sweet red wine. I'm no wine expert though.

But to start with- have you got a meter so you can check you bs levels? Many doctors don't recommend that you test regularly but in my view regular testing is essential. If you test regularly you can see the effect that different food (and wine) have on your readings.

What advice did the doctor give in relation to food? Many doctors advise the 'healthy food' diet- I like others on this forum have found that that advice doesn't work for them. I'm on a low carb way of life and I can support that by the readings I get on my meter.

You may be feeling overwhelmed and emotional- I certainly was after I was diagnosed. I think it was at least 2 weeks b before I wasn't crying every day. Here on this site you will find a lot of support and advice so you are in the right place.

Welcome and let us know how we can help you.

MeiChanski

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello and welcome :)
I’ll bring some cheese to go with your wine.

ziggy_w

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I .was very recently diagnosed with T2 diabetes. To my dismay, I was told to limit red wine to almost a thimble quantity daily intake. Is this crucial?

Hi @Markyinon,