Liver Reduction Diet

awfyblether

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Running
I have been referred for bariatric surgery and have been advised to follow a milk diet for two reasons. First to show I can lose weight (I can see why they are sceptical) and second to reduce the size of my liver.

Much as I like milk, the diet doesn't appeal. I wondered if a low carb/keto diet could have the same effect on the liver? What do you think?

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I have been referred for bariatric surgery and have been advised to follow a milk diet for two reasons. First to show I can lose weight (I can see why they are sceptical) and second to reduce the size of my liver.

Much as I like milk, the diet doesn't appeal. I wondered if a low carb/keto diet could have the same effect on the liver? What do you think?
I have no experience of this type of diet but I’ll tag in @ickihun who has been through the process herself and I’m sure can help you.

Reactions: awfyblether

xfieldok

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Are you eating a low carb diet? People who have eaten low carb/keto have reported an improvement in NAFLD.

Reactions: awfyblether

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only

I used to have a link to the Guys and Thomas's hospital pre bariatric surgery site that stated they tested for ketones whilst patients were pre-op. Unfortunately it has disappeared.

I'd definitely go for keto maybe with some fasting (the extra fat in the diet provides satiety so its less frightening than it appears) and then see how the weight loss goes. Do it for 6 months and you might not even need the surgery.

Edit to add how much weight do you have to lose?

Tophat1900

Type of diabetes
Type 3c
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
Uncooked bacon

Fatty liver?

Yes, low carb and or keto is the way to go imo.

ickihun

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2