I have diabetes, don’t know what type.

Tel14

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi all.
I am in the process of being diagnosed with diabetes- I say that because, I know I have it, but still waiting to see wether it is type I, type II or possibly LADA.

Some background:
About mid Feb/ early March this year I started to get all the classical symptoms. Unquenchable thirst, frequent urination day and night (up 6-7 x during the night), 1 stone weight loss, and a gentian thrush infection (sorry)!
Like most people, initially diabetes didn’t really feature high up on list of things I thought this was as I felt I could explain my symptoms away. But the longer they went on, the more I began to suspect.
Fortunately for me I am a nurse so knew the symptoms to look for and could tick them all off. Still not convinced, I decided to do a urinalysis test- more to satisfy myself that I didn’t have diabetes! Imagine my surprise when the glucose indication window immediately turned a very dark green!! Another test in case somehow the fist test was wrong- same result.
Now as I say I am a nurse, normally work in endoscopy but had gone to work in ITU to help out during Covid crisis- when I did the test I was in the middle of a 12 hour shift. On my break I phoned the GP (who have all been fantastic). No face to face appointments due to corona virus, but nurse would call me next day.
Explained symptoms and given a face to face appointment.
BM checked 29.9- ok maybe this is diabetes...HbA1c checked 107 :wideyed:
At this point I should explain that I am a 35 year old male, go running 3x per week, dog walk at least once per day, have a good diet, 6’ 2” and weigh 70kg with no family history.
I don’t seem to be either a typical type I, or type II presentation. So at present I am stuck, waiting blood tests and scans. I have had GAD antibody test but not had a result yet. My GP suspects (and so do I) that I may have LADA.