Newly diagnosed type 2

Wookie1974

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi, I was diagnosed with a hba1c 91 just over a week ago. I have been following the 800 calorie diet since and my blood sugar readings for the past week haven't been over 7.0 fasting and 7.4 after eating. Ive just had my 1st appointment with my diabetes nurse and I've been prescribed Metformin 500mg (1 twice a day for 2 weeks then 2 twice a day). Do I need to be taking this much medication if my levels are good with diet control? I'm totally new with this and don't want to be taking anything I don't have to.

Reactions: JoKalsbeek

JoKalsbeek

Expert
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi, I was diagnosed with a hba1c 91 just over a week ago. I have been following the 800 calorie diet since and my blood sugar readings for the past week haven't been over 7.0 fasting and 7.4 after eating. Ive just had my 1st appointment with my diabetes nurse and I've been prescribed Metformin 500mg (1 twice a day for 2 weeks then 2 twice a day). Do I need to be taking this much medication if my levels are good with diet control? I'm totally new with this and don't want to be taking anything I don't have to.
Honestly? We can't give medical advice or diagnoses on here.... But.... I know what I'd do. (And did).

... You're in the normal range. Not perfect, not yet. But headed there. And you're doing it without the metformin already. The 800 cal diet isn't one that's meant for a long run though, it's not sustainable long term. Even if it is a good way to get started, it is considered a crash diet and those end up giving people deficiencies if you go beyond the 6-8 weeks. https://josekalsbeek.blogspot.com/2019/11/the-nutritional-thingy.html <-- this is sustainable and you can transition to it when the 800 cal diet is done. Or before that time, for that matter. Up to you. Just saying.... I haven't been on metformin, not gliclazide, nor a statin for almost 4 years now. Diet-only.