non diabetic hypoglycaemia +exercise

tilly97531

Hi,

I have recently been diagnosed with non diabetic hypoglycaemia. I am a personal trainer who does resistance training but am now finding it hard to exercise. I never used to eat before I worked out as it made me feel sick however, I am so shaky now. I have been taking sports drinks to the gym which has helped but then it makes me worse after.

What would you recommend to eat before a workout and how long before as I am stuck?

thanks so much!

Reactions: Lamont D

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
A lot of the RH forum members have found that eating in a low carb way has helped stop the spikes that then lead to RH crashes.
Sports drink with their sugars are likely to be far worse than a nice bacon and egg breakfast.

tilly97531

A lot of the RH forum members have found that eating in a low carb way has helped stop the spikes that then lead to RH crashes.
Sports drink with their sugars are likely to be far worse than a nice bacon and egg breakfast.

Thanks for your help!
I will definitely keep that in mind
I used to be anorexic so I dont want to cut out carbs completely.
I have switched to wholemeal and am trying to not eat as many refined carbs too.
Do you when is best to eat before a workout to prevent sugar lows?

thanks in advance

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Thanks for your help!
I have switched to wholemeal and am trying to not eat as many refined carbs too.

thanks in advance

Unfortunately most carbs will likely cause a peak and then ensuing crash which is what you probably want to avoid.
Edit to add the colour of the carbs doesn't seem to make much difference to many. But refined will be undoubtedly worst for you.

Better to use fats and proteins for sustenance.