Libre sensor

H4yi3y

Hi, I have another question about the libre 2 sensor. I did text& ask my DSN but she hasn’t got back to me. I saw someone say that they put their sensor in a whole 24 hours before they activate it. Is this what I’m supposed to be doing? Mine is due to be changed in 2 days and this one I have in is my first so I’m still learning. My DSN didn’t really tell me much about the libre though she just stuck it on and sent me on my way and I’m seeing loads of different stuff about it on here! does it matter if I just put it in and then activate it right away and use it?

boggle

Type of diabetes
MODY
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Carbohydrates
I put mine in and scan it. 1 hour and its good to go for me.

sleepster

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I used to do it 24 hours before with the libre 1, with libre 2 I have to do it at least 48 hours before, I usually do 72 though, it's just not accurate for me otherwise. If it's accurate straight away then you don't need to attach it in advance.

barrym

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
As you'd expect - wildly different opinions!

I have been using Libre pretty much since the start. For the majority of that time I have been applying it a day before starting it. For a few months I did it two days before. But as an opposite example, just this week I had a particularly inaccurate rogue sensor which I had applied 24 hours ahead. It was so bad, in frustration I ripped it off. I applied a new one and started immediately. Spot on!

No rhyme nor reason. What ever works. If immediate doesn't work for you, try 24hrs and see how it goes.

HTH

gaz_46

Type of diabetes
Type 1