Poll: Which diabetes course(s) have you attended?

Which of the following structured diabetes education courses have you attended?

• DAFNE

Votes: 122 18.8%
  • DESMOND

Votes: 122 18.8%
  • X-PERT

Votes: 70 10.8%
  • ASPIRE

Votes: 3 0.5%
  • Freedom4Life

Votes: 2 0.3%
  • Other (Please state in a post)

Votes: 67 10.3%
  • Never attended one

Votes: 291 44.8%

• Total voters

Alan FJ

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm also a graduate of BERTIE, which I attended in 2010. Having not been 'trained' in diabetes since diagnosis in 1985, I found the course extremely useful and I have found my HbA1c has improved considerably since, although I still have spells when my control waivers a touch (but that's very much my fault).

The whole concept of ratios and adjusting doses was new to me - I'd effectively guesstimated these for myself previously, with predictably variable consequences! The BERTIE course put some science behind it all and has informed my diabetic control for the better.

I have been on varying doses of steroids for the past few years for another medical condition, and that of course makes for some challenges to my ratio calculations, and reintroduces an element of guessing but things generally settle down after each change in dosage.

I would definitely recommend these courses, the only issue being that I do recall some people on my cohort having immense difficulty with the maths involved!

Reactions: 2 people

grum

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Noise, Clutter, Shopping, Gardening.
The Type 2 Diabetic Course I attended run by the NHS Primary Care Trust - 'Life & Health with Diabetes' two hr sessions over four wks.
Covering Living with Diabetes, Diet, LIfestyle, Meds and Footcare. The course was very informative, relaxed atmosphere, questions were encouraged.