How can I control my levels?

Shazia555

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
How do I get my fasting sugars to decrease? I've been on insulin for two months now. My insulin has steadily been increasing as my nurse didn't want to suddenly increase the insulin.

I am now taking 18 units of novo rapid before breakfast and lunch. 25 units of novorapid before evening meal. 25 units of levemir at night

My fasting sugars always seem to be 13-15. Throughout the days my levels are between 7-9.

How can I reduce my fasting sugars. I've tried eating no carbs at evening and has resulted in the similar readings

I know my job has a big impact as I'm a driving instructor and its a very stressful job but I simply can't get it in control

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
You need to speak with your diabetes nurse and explain to them about your high fasting bg levels, they will probably ask you to increase your levemir dose to bring your morning levels down.

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People that can't listen to other people's opinions.
People that can't say sorry.
As a general guideline only... Not for you to change any dosing....without speaking to your dsn etc...this is how generally doses work.. Some people vary.....

Generally total bolus for the day and total basal for the day would be fairly equal.. Ie if you take 50 units of basal insulin (generally) you would find that your bolus would equate to the same-(ish) amount.
This is called a 50/50 ratio.
Some people run on a 60/40 ratio and a few run on a 70/30 ratio.
We are all individual and it all depends on our individual lifestyles.

It seems that you are having significantly more novorapid than your basal insulin.
So your nurse may well raise your basal more.

As you are a driving instructor it us imperative that you are not at risk of hypo's whilst fine tuning your needs.