Where to put my cannulas

deb2008

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi, I've been using a pump for about four years now, but one of my biggest problems is finding places to put my cannula without reusing the same places too much. I mainly use my hips around the sides but they can start hurting after sleeping on them then I'll wake with a bg of 20 like this morning Any good places people use? Thx

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
I'm surprised your team! haven't explained to you where to put your cannulas
You have plenty of choice ......... tum for one.

deb2008

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
It doesn't work for me in my tummy. Maybe cos I've got little kids, carrying them, it's always painful within an hour or two. Anywhere else?

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
It doesn't work for me in my tummy. Maybe cos I've got little kids, carrying them, it's always painful within an hour or two. Anywhere else?
Well use a different cannula for different body locations, problem solved. If I can carry 20kg lambs with a cannula in my tum I'm sure you can carry a child without a problem :)

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
What about using your bum, I'll tag @donnellysdogs to advise as she would often use this area when using a insulin pump.

Engineer88

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Arms I use and find very comfortable as well as legs however I find legs dont last too long as I catch it and pull it out. not a huge problem just more frequent replacements (2 days or so)

novorapidboi26

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
anywhere really with a bit of subcutaneous tissue.............i use my upper thighs and stomach, mostly thighs though........