Newly diagnosed and scared!

Kazz94

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I was told today that i have a 49 result on the blood test which makes me diabetic. How does my doctor know if I'm type 1 or 2. She says that I am most likely to be type 2 and wants to prescribe 2 types of medication. How do you know which you have?

I want to deal with this with diet and supplements if possible, Any advice would be welcome as I am feeling quite scared at the moment. I need to lose a lot of weight which i hope will turn things around but can I do the 5:2 diet and is it ok to go long periods without eating?

Reactions: 2 people

becky.ford93

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm no expert but that's a pretty low HBA1C, if you were type one I would imagine that value would be a lot higher as you'd be producing very little insulin. Most type ones I know of had HBA1Cs well over 60 or 70 when diagnosed (not to say that can't happen for type 2s as well). They can run further blood tests to fully confirm which type you are, and more confusingly diabetes doesn't always sit in just type 1 or 2 categories.

Reactions: 4 people

Prem51

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
hi @Kazz94 and welcome to the forum. Like you I was diagnosed with diabetes when I got a result of 49 on my annual blood test, six weeks ago. I don't have any other symptoms, and my GP said it is Type 2. She didn't think I needed to go on medication at the moment anyway, and suggested I should try to control my blood sugar levels by diet and exercise.

This is what I have been doing, cutting down on sugar and carbs, eating more vegetables and fish, and walking almost every day, starting at 1 hour every day, increasing to 10,000 steps every day (about 5 miles) and now aiming for 20,000 steps most days. I bought a pedometer which incentivises me more.