2 hours after meals; surprising result

Geordie_P

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi friends,
I've been low-carbing for a couple of months, but today I tried eating sushi: 10 pieces, so quite a lot of rice.
I took a blood test BEFORE the meal and registered as 4.2.
2 hours after the sushi meal, I took another test and got 7.3.

I understand I shouldn't get too excited about it, and that there may he higher spikes at different times etc, but if I am getting results in the non-diabetic range after eating more carbs than I am used to, might it be worth doing something like the OGTT to check if I could be pre-diabetic or suchlike? I'm not on any diabetes medication, and every bg self-test I do puts me well under diabetic levels, but this is the first time I've tried with starch.

chalup

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
At 2 hours your levels were probably well on the way back down. To catch the spike, particularily on a high carb and quite low fat meal, you need to test at 1 hour and then at 2 hours.

AndBreathe

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi friends,
I've been low-carbing for a couple of months, but today I tried eating sushi: 10 pieces, so quite a lot of rice.
I took a blood test BEFORE the meal and registered as 4.2.
2 hours after the sushi meal, I took another test and got 7.3.

I understand I shouldn't get too excited about it, and that there may he higher spikes at different times etc, but if I am getting results in the non-diabetic range after eating more carbs than I am used to, might it be worth doing something like the OGTT to check if I could be pre-diabetic or suchlike? I'm not on any diabetes medication, and every bg self-test I do puts me well under diabetic levels, but this is the first time I've tried with starch.