9 weeks pregnant, what to eat?

Jazmine287

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi everyone,
I was diagnosed as type 2 about 2 months before falling pregnant. I'm currently on 1 x 500mg Metformin twice a day, and am getting a blood sugar meter tonight from my drs. I have the guideline numbers I need to try to get to, and a diabetic midwife app on thurs but I just have a few questions if anyone wouldn't mind answering.

What do I eat? I feel like I'm going to be living off salad and meat lol. Do I just try out random stuff to see how it effects my sugar levels and work from there? Would anyone be kind enough to tell me what they basically eat in a day? I am a complete novice at all this as you can see! Doing my shopping online tonight so any advice would be gratefully appreciated.

xx

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Congratulations @Jazmine287 :)

You should be given a whole lot of useful info at your diabetic midwife appointment, but in the meantime, once you get your meter it will be very helpful in showing you what you can eat because you can see how your blood sugar is affected. You might also have a dietician appointment to help you plan out a diet that will both nourish you and baby and keep your blood sugar under control. Sometimes Type 2s need additional meds during pregnancy as the pregnancy itself causes quite strong insulin resistance.

I'm Type 1 not Type 2, but during pregnancy I ate pretty much the same as pre-pregnancy but avoided all the foods you're not supposed to,eat when pregnant, added some fats and made sure to eat plenty of veg and to space out my meals and snacks throughout the day. I spread my carbs throughout the day.

I tested very frequently too so I could try to,stay on target as much as possible.

Tilly_S

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Download the carbs &a cals app it's v helpful:)
See what works for you as everybody is different with their triggers (mine is chips , pasta ,rice everything carb) lol fun