Type 2 Advice on reducing insulin and or Glicaside first

poemagraphic

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
WIFI, Mobile phones. Smart metres... in fact anything 'smart'
My question is about reducing my insulin intake and or reducing my Glicaside tablets.

I first started taking insulin 4 weeks ago after being admitted to hospital with a virus.

The consultant noted my highly elevated BG levels and was aware that I was taking 1000mg Metformin twice a day = 2000mg
He told me he was taking me off Metformin with immediate effect and replaced it with 10 units of insulin once a day at 22:00
Plus 80mg of Glicaside twice a day, one in the morning and one in the evening.

Within the first couple of weeks I was getting readings regularly during the day of below 4.
As I drive for a living I was concerned that at these levels I would have to keep on stopping and eating 4 jelly babies then wait 20mins then eat a couple of Rich tea biscuits... Mmmmm Jelly babies!

Also 2 hours after my evening meal (Almost time for bed) ... I was constantly getting readings below 8. I WAS TOLD...
"You MUST be above 8 before going to bed if you are below 8 You should eat 2 or 3 Rich Tea Biscuits and wait until your readings have risen above 8"

WHAT? This seemed counter productive.

I dropped my insulin to 8 on the second week and again to 7 on the third week. So a 30% reduction in 3 weeks!

I am still hitting low readings at night 5-6 often.... After reading several threads on this 'great site' by helpful, knowledgeable experienced, and informative posters. I now 'just' go to bed. I always wake up for a wee at some point so I take another reading to see how low I have dropped. As a rule I have not dropped at all.

NOW! My the reason for my question about what to reduce; Insulin and or Glicaside is to see if any members have any insight
about dropping their meds/insulin levels.