advice please, called to doc to discuss results!

rippers

Hello everyone,

I have been lowcarbing for about 3 months now, and my self test results have been good, after meals is down form 10ish to 5s , 6, or 7ish. and some results pre lunch were a bit too lw, so I think its looking good, also have lost about half a stone, did speak to diabetic nurse a few weeks nto this new diet as my results were so good and wanted to check in with her about this, she was more concerend that my cholesteral would rise thatn that my blood sugars appeared more controlled. (My last test was 7.4 and I take 2x 1000 metformin a day plus 3 of the glizo thingys. I take 1 40g statin a day, my cholesteral I beleive was around 4 ( not fully sure on that as it was not tested on last review).

Have just had a blood test taken last week and now had a letter to say please see Doctor to discuss results, So I can only summise at this stage that my cholesteral has come back high. ( I doubt if they have called my back for low sugar results!) .

Has anyone else had this happen that cholesteral has gone higher, and did i read on hear somewhere that cholesteral can go higher initially and then fall, just want to have my answers ready in case I have to justfy low carbing any info appreciated

chocoholicnomore

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Would be interested in any replies to this too. I'm also low carbing and had high cholesterol on being diagnosed with diabetes. Haven't had a follow up blood test yet but self testing has showed my BG levels to have gone down quite a bit.

chocoholicnomore

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Sorry Rippers, I didn't realise you have just joined :oops:

Welcome to the forum. Everyone here is very helpful and always has loads of good advice.

I'm sure you will get an answer from an experienced person very soon.

Unbeliever