Baffled

Speedbird

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
I need some advice from the wise ones.

I have been doing intermittent fasting since diagnosis about 16 months ago. At first it worked well with low FBG down to the 4s.
But slowly it’s been creeping up. My diet hasn’t changed, still low carbing, still exercising. Not overweight. Probably a TOFI, although my visceral fat is 6.
Annoyingly I’ve always had a problem with DP. Usually in the 8s and very lucky if it occasionally shows 6.5.
I am just getting over a cold and realise that BG can be unsteady and stay high when unwell. But what I find hard to fathom is that it is staying in the 8s until I eat about midday. This morning, for instance it was 9.3, the give away was being quite hot when I woke up. 2 coffees with cream then I took the dogs out. BG back down to 8.0. Then it creeped up to 8.3. I had nothing to eat until 1ish, a fry up lunch and 1 hour after it came down to 6.4!
2 hours after 5.7. How does that work?
I may have missed something in the forums about this happening to others but would appreciate a link or some advice.
Thank you x

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I need some advice from the wise ones.

I have been doing intermittent fasting since diagnosis about 16 months ago. At first it worked well with low FBG down to the 4s.
But slowly it’s been creeping up. My diet hasn’t changed, still low carbing, still exercising. Not overweight. Probably a TOFI, although my visceral fat is 6.
Annoyingly I’ve always had a problem with DP. Usually in the 8s and very lucky if it occasionally shows 6.5.