Basal doses

hale710

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi guys

I'm trying to work out if my basal dose is right. I'm currently only on 3u a day, I do it at 6pm every day. I was told by my DSN to snack before bed if my BG is below 8mmol/l, so Ive been rolling with that

My issue is when I don't snack my BG drops quite a few points overnight. So should I be reducing my basal even further? 3u really doesn't seem like a lot.

This is my bed and morning BG for the last week or so.

Bed 11.7, morning 8.8
7.9 and small snack, morning 7.6
Bed 10.6, morning 8.9
Bed 6.2 and small snack, morning 6.1
Bed 5.4 and small snack, morning 7.1
Bed 6.8 and small snack, morning 7.9
Bed 8.2, morning 5.1
Bed 4.9 and snack, morning 6.2
Bed 6.8 and snack, morning 6.8

Anyone who has any advice that would be great!

amyrebecca

Have you been on the dafne course? I read one of your previous posts and you mention carb counting...

Im not a medical professional so I cant tell you what to do but if your night time basal is sending you low in the night or on waking, then you should reduce it right away. That is what I would do. But if you haven't been on a dafne course you should speak to your nurse first before adjusting :)

Amy.

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

hale710

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
amyrebecca said:
Have you been on the dafne course?

My dietician is trying to get me on, but the first available slot is in November so that's a long wait. I lived with my cousin in uni and she's a Type 1 too so I learnt it all passively with her before I was diagnosed myself. My nurse and dietician contradict each other constantly so I never know what I'm meant to do

amyrebecca