Borderline keto

notria

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I have been doing low GI for 20 years then 2 years ago diagnosed Lada Type 1. Not on insulin yet as A1c is 47 but am thinking about it. I have read Dr Bernstein’s book and lowered carb – so far its between 40g and 120g per day. I believe that the UK government recommends a minimum of 120g carb for brain function.

I understand that if you achieve very low carb eg 24g per day then your brain can adapt to ketones – you become ketone adapted. But what if you are below 120g but above 24g or if one day below 24g and another day you are much higher than 24g? Can your brain instantly switch between glucose and ketones? Help appreciated.

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
I have been doing low GI for 20 years then 2 years ago diagnosed Lada Type 1. Not on insulin yet as A1c is 47 but am thinking about it. I have read Dr Bernstein’s book and lowered carb – so far its between 40g and 120g per day. I believe that the UK government recommends a minimum of 120g carb for brain function.

I understand that if you achieve very low carb eg 24g per day then your brain can adapt to ketones – you become ketone adapted. But what if you are below 120g but above 24g or if one day below 24g and another day you are much higher than 24g? Can your brain instantly switch between glucose and ketones? Help appreciated.
Hi, having been in ketosis for well over two years now, I can tell you that first we are all different and the government advice is only a guideline, a very safe guideline!
I am carb intolerant! I avoid carbs and sugars and I can exist on no food at all for up to a week! How?
All I know is I don't need food to give me my glucose or energy.
I know that my liver supplies me with the amount of glucose required, not food!
I only eat to survive! I eat to give my body necessary vitamins! That's all!
The need for carbs, that spike you is unnecessary!