BS Suddenly gone sky high - help please....

Paulaah

Good morning all,

I just wondered if someone could give me a helping hand. I'm a relative newbie - one year diagnosed. I'm on split Levemir 4/6 and Humalog. I've had good control right up until the week before last and now it's all just gone out of the window, with pre meal readings being 11. Morning ones particularly high, so I did some overnight tests and rang my Diabetes team for some advice. They advised me to increase Levemir, which I did last night. But of course I will have to wait a few days to see if it works. Although i did wake up in single figures this morning for the first time in a week.

My question is this... My ratios also seem to have changed. So when my basal dose, and my ratios are all over the place, what do i tackle first? Obviously, when I'm correcting, I don't know what my ratio is and therefore how much correction i need. So every tme i test i get that awful sinking feeling because it feels like its a constantly moving goalpost. 2 hrs after breakfast today I was 16.6, but i thought i'd built in a good correction.

I'm starting to panic a bit. Do I concentrate on getting my basal right first? How do I do carb free testing to check it when i'm starting on such high numbers which are unsafe to leave uncorrected.

Please help :? :? :? :?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Checking your basal doses are correct is where I would start Paula. I was just saying the other day that it would be wrong to assume that basal doses stay static throughout the year, mine can change 4/5 times in a year.

In theory if your doing a fasting check and your bg is say 9 then it should stay around this figure throughout the fast, if it goes up then your basal needs increasing, if it drops then you have too much basal on board.

Paulaah

Thanks, Noblehead.