Burning skin sensation.

Z_e_u_s

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi all experienced people of this site,
I am new to this (like most people) and have plenty of questions I am sure someone will be able to answer.
I was diagnosed last T2D last October, so still have a lot to learn about the condition (despite all my father side of the family having it) but right now one thing is bothering me amongst many : I have this unpleasant burning feeling around my ankles..I assume is a consequence of diabetes?
Does it go away..or is there a way to make it stop?!?!
Help!

KennyA

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi all experienced people of this site,
I am new to this (like most people) and have plenty of questions I am sure someone will be able to answer.
I was diagnosed last T2D last October, so still have a lot to learn about the condition (despite all my father side of the family having it) but right now one thing is bothering me amongst many : I have this unpleasant burning feeling around my ankles..I assume is a consequence of diabetes?
Help!

Can't diagnose you and shouldn't try anyway. I do have a burning sensation in my feet, generally at night, not anywhere near as bad as it used to be when my BG was higher. Had it for about five years. It's a form of peripheral neuropathy and it is associated with diabetes. I'm now back at normal BG levels so I'm assuming that the residual tingling is permanent damage.

tikievans

I use Alpha Lipoic Acid to halt and reduce my diabetic neuropathy. I have had T2D for 10 years and the ALA seems to have halted any further progression, along with dietary control of course.

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
I have this unpleasant burning feeling around my ankles..I assume is a consequence of diabetes?