CGM test method - interstitial or blood??

AJB_81

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Do all CGMs measure interstitial fluid glucose? Or are there some on the market that measure blood glucose directly? Any experts out there know?

EllsKBells

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
They all measure interstitial fluid, the fluid in which all body cells are 'bathed'. As far as I am aware there are no CGMs measuring blood glucose directly, which I suspect would be a rather different kettle of fish, just in terms of getting it inserted in the right place, and having the sensing technology constantly in contact with blood. Also, and I'm not a techie person, I wonder if it might be affected by the different rates of blood flow between people, given the extent to which heart rate can vary between individuals, even throughout the day, whereas interstitial fluid just sits there most of the time.

@tim2000s is the ranking expert on all things tech, and I'm sure will be able to correct me if I've just spewed a load of rubbish.

AJB_81

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Thanks for the info.
Currently use Libre but thinking of giving Dexcom G5 a go as the low alarm function must be tremendous, particularly for night hypos. Libre is amazing but often shows rather concerning trends, again at night!
Thought I'd check if technology only measures interstitial, which I suspected it did, but thought it worth checking, before buying the Dexcom

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
Libre is amazing but often shows rather concerning trends, again at night!
Are you checking your libre results against a blood reader? It works very well for many (most?) people, but can under read very badly for others and give false low readings...

AJB_81

Type of diabetes
Type 1