Changing to steel cannula

TamsinB

Hi

I'm fairly new to pumping, I've been using a Paradigm Veo with QuickSet teflon cannulas for about 2 months. My main problem seems to be bent cannulas, I get them several times a week, every other change or so. My nurse has told me I'm just a bit 'cack-handed' and will get better at inserting the set but I've noticed that it seems to happen most when I'm trying to use a site with less fat.

I'm quite slim and have lumps on my belly below the navel from injecting which means I'm currently limited to either side of the navel, there's not enough fat above. I'm also considering my bum but am nervous it might be annoying as I sit down all day at work.

I would love to hear how people find steel cannulas, particularly the Sure-T set. Are they comfortable? Is there more risk of dislodging them or damaging them when moving around?

Thanks!

Tamsin

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People that can't listen to other people's opinions.
People that can't say sorry.
I have a rapid d from accuchek roche, 6mm. I love them and will not go back to a plastic teflon.

Much easier to put in by self than with an inserter from my point of view. If doing when standing up, I will know immediately if I have a tinsy winsy bit of pain just on it's way in, then I take it out and move it somewhere else before pressing the sticky stuff down.

For the last 3 sets I put in from the end of the box though, for some reason I have had quite a bit of redness on the skin where the glue has been, just on my left leg. Never expereinced this before, so don't know whether it was sticky stuff, or me. Now moved to my lower right part of tum for a change, and a new box...so still won't know whether it was the last 3 in the box or my leg....