Diet only
Serum triglyceride levels 2.9 mmol/L [0.3 - 1.8]
Serum cholesterol level 3.7 mmol/L
Serum lipid levels
Serum HDL cholesterol level 0.91 mmol/L
Serum non high density lipoprotein cholesterol level 2.79 mmol/L
Serum cholesterol/HDL ratio 4.1 mmol/mmol
Serum LDL cholesterol level 1.47 mmol/L

These are the results of a male family member aged 52. I'd appreciate your comments and advice please as I'm not that good with understanding results and even worse at explaining them to someone else.

Any advice or insight into any of the figures would be helpful. Which figures need improvement and what can he do to help himself?

satindoll

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @zand suggest you try putting his numbers in this calculator, its the one I use when I get my results and it will tell you which if any need work, what it can't do is tell you what you need to do I'm afraid you need someone more knowledgeable than me for that. good luck
http://www.hughcalc.org/chol-si.php

Reactions: 2 people

zand

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Thanks @satindoll. :)

OK so the following came up when I put those figures in...

Your Total Cholesterol of 3.70 is DESIRABLE
Your LDL of 1.45 is OPTIMAL
Your HDL of 0.91 is HIGH RISK

Your Triglyceride level of 2.91 is HIGH RISK

RATIOS:

Your Total Cholesterol/HDL ratio is: 4.07 - (preferably under 5.0, ideally under 3.5) GOOD
Your HDL/LDL ratio is: 0.628 - (preferably over 0.3, ideally over 0.4) IDEAL
Your triglycerides/HDL ratio is: 7.320 - (preferably under 4, ideally under 2) VERY HIGH RISK

zand

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only