Code Free testing

Jono1568

Type of diabetes
Type 2
ive been using this type of tester for about 6 months, mainly due to the cheaper testing strips. Having read some concerns about the accuracy of this device, I decided to try something tonight.
Two hours after my meal, I tested myself 3 times in quick succession, using a clean strip each time, and using blood from the same site on my finger. My first result was 7mmol. The second was 7.8mmol, and the third was 6.8mmol. All three tests were completed within about 40 seconds. Does this show the device is not very accurate, as I find it hard to believe the results would vary so much from the same site within seconds of each other.
If they vary this much, it doesn't lend itself to managing glucose levels very well. Does anyone have similar experiences of thoughts on this?

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.
You'd get the same rusults with any meter. I certainly get similar figures from my Glucomen LX Plus.

Most current meters have an accuracy of +/- 15%.

Reactions: 6 people

Sirmione

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Donald Trump
Within the fairly broad limitations of the method we use for home testing those results show reasonable repeatability, but they give no real indication of the accuracy of the meter.

To test for accuracy you would have to test against a calibrated control solution, these test solutions come in different ranges (usually low, medium and high) and are available from the meter manufacturers. For type 2 diabetics accuracy in the medium range is of the most interest.
I have tested several different meters against control solution and found my SD Codefree to be the most accurate followed by my two Bayer contour meters.