Complacency of the medical profession

Peter Maher

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
I wanted to apply the research emerging from Newcastle to see if a dramatic loss of weight would reduce, even eliminate my dependency on Insulin.

I had been injecting for 12 years and always got very positive feedback about my blood sugar control. However this was at the expense of injecting circa 150 units of insulin daily; weight increased to over 17 stone and injection sites were increasingly sore, swollen and painful.

I sought help from the surgery diabetic nurse and explained, "Newcastle suggest that this severe diet needs medical supervision." Her answer was brief. I pushed for an appointment with the hospital team and eventually got to see a dietician and a diabetic nurse together. They announced themselves very keen to learn from my experience but needed the approval of their consultant. The same answer.

So here I am 4 months later, 45 lbs lighter, having reduced my insulin by 95% and my metformin by a third and still trying to get the attention of the local medical profession. I need help, my medication needs to be reviewed in the light of the weight loss, I need support on understanding how to sustain the diet and weight loss. Why, when I tried in early June to get a Drs appointment, was the earliest one available on July 15th! Why is the medical profession so complacent.

NoCrbs4Me

Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
Vegetables
Excellent work. With regards to diet, they will just tell you to follow the high carb low fat healthy plate or whatever it's called these days, you will be wasting your time asking them for dietary advice. You might want to try a low carb high fat diet.

Peter Maher

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin